h1

One Hit Wonder’s Day

September 26, 2010

It would be remiss of me if I didn’t mention something about today being, One hit wonder’s day. I didn’t know about this national holiday but It was brought to my attention and due to the fact that I qualify, I am obliged to take my rightful place in line. Today is September 25. 2010 and this is a day that cannot, let me stress this…..cannot be enjoyed by the likes of, Elvis Presley, The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, Billy Joel, Frank Sinatra, Neil Diamond, The Who. Ray Charles, Aretha Franklin, Lady GaGa, etc. This is a day reserved only for us unihit artistes. I can attest to the fact that there is a huge difference between being a, one hit wonder or being a, no hit wonder. This celebratory event is brought to you by, The Grammy’s and if you go to the website you’ll see I’m in good company with, Norah Jones, Gnarls Barkley, The Baha Men, etc. Without this distinction I wouldn’t have been able to take this photo of me pointing to my name on the wall of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland Ohio.

I remember this day well. It was a hot summer day and my family and I had been at a family reunion the day before. I had been given a heads up by my friend Rick Scarry that my name might be on the wall but he wasn’t sure. He told me that there was a room called, One Hit Wonders and if I got a chance I should check it out. I went with my kids and grandkids hoping he was right. We took a camera along . My wife had it in her purse just in case photos weren’t allowed and when we arrived, there was a huge sign saying  just that. We went in not knowing if it would be there or not. When we found the room I had a funny feeling and I was prepared for the worse. I looked for five minutes or so before I said ,” I guess Rick was wrong, I don’t see it”. my daughter looked up and said, “There it is”. I was in shock and just stared at this,  incomparable sight. It took me a few minutes to compose myself and then we tried to figure out a way to get a picture. I decided to just go ask someone. I found a lady security guard who was watching everyone coming into the museum. I asked her if she would allow me to break the rules and take a picture of my name on the wall. She looked at me suspiciously and asked, “Who are you?”. I said that I had a hit a zillion years ago called Chick-a-Boom. She looked at me and said, “You’re Daddy Dewdrop?”. I told her that if I was going to lie I would have said I was Jimi Hendrix or Joe Cocker. She let me take the picture and I am forever grateful . Don’t ya jes love it?

3 comments

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Ron Smith, dick monda. dick monda said: One Hit Wonder's Day: http://wp.me/pNEX4-4H […]


  2. I dus jus’ love it. Big kiss. Alyssaa


  3. Daddy-
    Glad to have part of your Rock ‘n Roll history!
    Butch



Leave a Reply

