h1

Daddy Dewdrop is not dead

September 1, 2011

 

                                                                                      

  The other night I received a phone call from a friend who had been told that a rumor of my death was circulating on the internet but……

As the immortal Mark Twain once said,

“The rumors of my death have been greatly exaggerated.”

 I am still writing on a regular basis. In fact I have the opportunity to write and record anything I want to.

One song that stirs my heart more than any other though, is one I didn’t write.

It is our beautiful National Anthem. The quality of this song is at the highest level and I am so proud to have been able to put my take on this wonderful piece of material. In actual fact it was the incredible Marvin Gaye and Jimi Hendrix who made it possible to treat the song in the wayit feels best for you. 

   I chose to call my version “Defence of Fort McHenry” , which was the title of the original poem written by Francis Scott Key and set to the melody of a British pub song called, “To Anacreon in Heaven”. I also included the fourth verse which will be new to most with a familiar theme.

Please view the video here http://youtu.be/Bgala4-ylII

Leave me a comment and let me know what you think.

 Download the song free at

www.daddydewdrop.com.

Leave a Reply

