h1

The Chick-a-Boom analysis

August 26, 2014

For over forty years I have been asked, “What does chick-a-boom (don’t ya jes’ love it) mean?

I have come up with a number of things but somehow it never seems to satisfy anyone. The truth is that the idea of the three doors came from a joke and everything else was just about a girl running around a corner and leaving her bikini on the ground. I thought it was a simple idea but not for everyone. I received a call from a disc jockey one day who announced that I wasn’t going to fool him because he figured out exactly what I was saying in the song. I couldn’t wait to hear his discovery. He proceeded to tell me that the first door, where there was a party going on, represented group sex.

Wow that never occurred to me so naturally I couldn’t wait to see where this was going. “The second door took me to Africa I presume”. Now I was actually thinking about,”Doctor Livingston I presume” but not this guy. He informed me that this was an African-American hooker. Holy crap! I was dumbfounded.

Behind the third door,”She whispered so sexy and low”, What could this be? Well he told me, this is a sophisticated high-class prostitute. When he finished I just told him that his story was better than mine so from now on I’ll use his. I’m sure he believed that his story was correct and that I had something to hide. The reality is that Dick Clark would not play my record because he thought it was dirty. I never got the chance to find out why he thought that.

I’m also guilty of the same thing, One night I had the opportunity to have dinner with Bernie Taupin. I asked him about one of my favorite songs,”Take me to the pilot”. I wanted to know if he was referring to something religious in the lyric. He put down his fork and stared at the ceiling for a moment and said,
“I have no idea”. I thanked him and we finished our meal. It changed my life.

This brings me to the point of this blog. I discovered a YouTube video of an analysis of chick-a-boom that is as good as it gets. It’s kind of an example of someone with too much time on their hands but it is hilarious.
click here.

Leave a Reply

